Please give us your feedback!

by

attention

Firstly I'd like to thank you for coming, for paying attention and for taking part in our experiment.

Secondly, I'd like to ask you to give us some feedback. It's really important for us to know what you think of the installation.

Here are some questions to help you, please leave your response in the comment box below.

  1. Do you feel you were interacting with the videos?
  2. If yes, did this interaction enhance your experience?
  3. Do you think your attention was being rewarded?
  4. Do you think the technology used enhanced your experience?
  5. Have you enjoyed your visit today?
  6. Why did you come here today?
  7. Anything else you'd like to say?

Thank you for your help!

28 Responses to “Please give us your feedback!”

  1. Olly Says:

    Found the slow motion vid very hypnotic, once you’ve started watching it it’s hard to let go.

    The pink dancers caught my attention, when their clothes turn black I began to lose it.

  2. naomi Says:

    enjoyed it, technology enhancd experience but didn’t feel I was interacting really;
    came by accident

    Thank you!

  3. Ivan Says:

    Thank you very much Attention Please! for rewarding me for my interaction. I did however feel a tad dismayed when my attention was not rewarded, leaving me constantly swiping until it was…

    The dramatic colour changes gripped me the most, but I felt the best attention reward was the subtle change between the dancing pair when the male dancer suddenly turned into the female partner (I hope you understand what I’m talking about).

    I have enjoyed my experience and shall be here tomorrow, registering my attention.

    Ivan – Gallery Assistant.

  4. Wibke Hott Says:

    The power of the swipe card easily gets to your head… I say this so generally, but what I mean is that it certainly got to mine and I swiped to show that I am (still) paying attention and I swiped to change the imagery. When I didn’t notice a(ny) change I moved on regardless of the seductive imagery.

    How long would the images hold my attention without the added feature of being able to interact with them? The subtlety of the influence an audience might or might not have on a live performance is magnified here where I can make my attention explicit by (repeated) swiping and even superimposing my own image on the exhibited art work.

    It’s a real power trip! It leaves me wanting more. I want more swiping opportunities and I want instant gratification, my attention should be instantly rewarded.

    I have to think about this a little more…
    bfn,
    w

  5. mark Says:

    It had no effect on me but then i believe that i was not supposed to react to the nullity. The target audience is probably other artists or other cognoscenti who decide what is art . I subscribe to the theory that modern art is not for the ‘great unwashed masses’ like myself but a select club who have studied art / post modern theory . I did n’t vote for it , i don’t want it , but then again I did n’t want a war in Iraq either

  6. Tomas Says:

    The piece with the most noise will always grab attention from the adjacent screens. Also, this one (the video with the dancng legs) has the most dramatic/satisfying change when you swipe your card. Was not sure if your supposed to contiunually swipe the card to affect change, or just as you first approach it.

  7. Katie Says:

    Give and take?
    I wonder if there is an emotional aspect to this… If something asks for our attention or for our action; are we compelled to act, react, do or give something? As I enjoy the fun videos and sounds; do I feel like I owe it to them to register my attention? Not only to make them react but to boost their egos? Like a hot or not, like an egosurf or technorati rating. If I have enjoyed, should I leave a ‘tip’?

  8. Sean Says:

    Congratulations! It’s good – I think project is the first of the recent spate of HCI stuff in FACT and beyond that really seems to have legs…

    I really enjoyed the fact that I wasn’t really in control, that I couldn’t really figure out what was or wasn’t happening all the time – it seems more like a relationship. It’s so easy to walk stright through a show without seeing anything, with very high expectations and very little patience. The scope of this kind of technology means the gallery experience begins to mean something again, especially for people like mark the great unwashed.

    It’s making me realise that the notion that art doesn’t have to do anything is actually quite outdated, that I certainy want my attention to be acknowledged.

    The easy constructive thing to critique would be the content – it was quite short and quite simple and didn’t do too much – but in an experiment this isn’t really the focus – me and El had a great chat on the way up the hill about the possiblities of it, you could make some amazing stuff… particularly if the technolgy could be less conspicuous – like stickers instead of swipe cards as Sara mentioned –

  9. Leslie Says:

    Came in to see the what was in here, and l thought it was rather clever to watch all the screens. Well thought out but sadly i find it all rather strange. Neat idea having to use the swipe card.

  10. Wibke Hott Says:

    I’m back! This time I am swiping from a different place within myself. I am selective, giving attention generously, allowing myself to travel with the flow of the piece, taking in the subtle changes as they appear, disappear, reappear. I am no longer marking my territory, I no longer expect immediate rewards for the attention I give.

    I pay a lot more attention than I did during my first visit and ultimately it is a lot more rewarding. Almost instantly! 😉

    xw

  11. Lian Says:

    I enjoyed just having a play – I tried swiping loads to see how the video and audio would change. and I tried standing back and doing nothing to see how my lack of ‘attention’ would affect things (although of course the RFID detector didn’t know that I was really still watching – haha – fooled it!). And I played a bit with the proximity – how close could i wave my swipe before I was registered? (I got caught a couple of times here – it picked me up when i wasn’t expecting it – darn!). The fact that the video and audio were on short loops made it easier to see how things were being affected, but the transitions were gradual, so I was forced to give my attention to detect subtle changes – i think I started imagining slight alterations that weren’t actually there in the end – didn’t that little girl in the audience just turn around? I’m sure that didn;t happen before? Did It?

  12. Dave Says:

    The pyschology of attention tells me I want something to happen between a a few milliseconds to up to ten seconds for me to associate a change with my actions. Beyond that I’ve forgotten what I’ve done and am attenting to something else – e.g. the continual background changes on the screen or the changes made by “someone else” not me. So there’s scope for playing with that notion of what’s immediate to me and what’s not mine. There’s aslo scope for more individualisation of the response (e.g. processing my image) to strengthen the association with my actions. More scope also for interweaving things I’ve done with what others have done – whose attention is being sought?

  13. Joe Says:

    How short is my attention span? I’m not sure the initial set up was “needy” enough on any screen to hold my attention until I started to to see changes happening on the other side of the room. If there was a way to train visitors to be more attentive with a bit more initial instant gratification… then the laws of diminishing returns take over perhaps. I got more attentive once I could see I was “appreciated”, but maybe then didn’t always get as big of a reaction as I felt I deserved. And… some other people seemed to be more appreciated than me – bah humbug!

  14. manuel hildebrand Says:

    thankyou,
    i dont understand all….
    im happy to be here and visit these obscure rooms in liverpool.
    i was astonished obout the lying people, stretching their legs making sportive exercises,

    what is with the children an done yellow shaped?
    Dancing waqs interesting me,
    Good bye for to-day. i will now leave the room. MH from Cologne

  15. alice Says:

    i watched them in order, that is starting from the one nearest the door, then the children, then the dancers. i wonder if most people followed this assumed order, and if the positioning was significant in demanding (and receiving) the viewers’attention. i thought i watched the first one longer. i think that this would be similar for visitors to art exhibitions in general; however there was not a structured route around the exhibits here and i also wondered if it made any difference to my perception and attention to the pieces, if i had viewed them in a different order. ie are they inter-dependent to any extent? all in all i seem to have done a fair bit of wondering and i guess that is good.

  16. steven Says:

    Not really. I felt as though they were desdigned to capture my attention, amd therefor I could not fully give it to them. I felt ,ore like my attention was being forced. It did affect my experience but did not enhance it. Yes I enjoyed it. To help out with the experiment.

  17. Zero Says:

    the video was interacting with me when i swiped my card over the sensor. the way in which it was reacting was changes in: speed, pixel quailty, sound, colour and effects where evident like split screens or zooming of the video.
    it gave the sense that i was being in control without doing what the video showed or told me. my attension was drawn very much and it made me laugh with what it had to offer when changing.
    i have enjoyed todays visit and i would like to take part in more if there ever was any.

  18. sakura Says:

    the duck was my favourite – and the yeahyeahyeah sample on the dance film was very impressive and entertaining.

    in FACT it rocks

    thank you

  19. Georg Says:

    It is an interesting piece of technology, but I think the changes in the videos were not verz obvious and therefore sometimes it seemed a bit by chance. But nevertheless the possibilities behind that system are quite interesting.

    CU again at the next installation

  20. Rene Says:

    nice piece of “artwork”? or rather technology…
    maybe the effect of interaction should be more obvious. faster or direkt response would be nice…

    but all in all… nice work
    keep it up.

  21. kathy Says:

    I like the ladies. I think they liked me. They certainly appreciated my attention.

    If the power of attention could be issued in a way that makes the offering less forced and more passive it would be interesting to see if the rewards would be given more frequently.

    Very engaging. Good bit of research.

  22. Laura Says:

    I did feel like I was interacting with the videos, and liked it when I got a response from my attention. I got frustrated when they didn’t do more after I swiped lots of times which was a good thing as it made me stay and keep trying. So I did feel as if my attention was being rewarded but it left me wanted more. Yes I thought the technology used was interesting I liked the fact that your identity was recorded it was regisitering each persons attention separately ( Infact I got a little bit competative and tried to give things more attention than other people…). I came to see this..and yes thankyou I have..

  23. rodney sandys Says:

    The interaction was very clever. I wasn’t sure whether it followed the same pattern each time. The young audience seemed to be a little bit too subtle for me. Was it changing at all. I thing that the fluffy duck was a little bit evil in its intent, sending a yellow ball bouncing all over the place.

    Doubt about the point of some of the images and the audio was either distracting or pointless. Incessant swiping sent it into an irritation mode.

    I enjoyed taking part and hope that it will help further on pushing towards your aims in life.

  24. Sam Says:

    I like the idea of trying to guage peoples attention, and assess the energy they devote to a piece of art.

    however the system used does not differentiate between standing and staring attention and the interactive / reward attentio that is suggested by some pices. i was worried that my attention wasn’t being registered by simply watching, but that if i swiped the thing would change. At the moment the exhibition implies a pavlov’s dogs style experiment whereby attention / interaction is rewarded. But what if you enjoy the piece as itr is? Or dont and just try to change it (unsuccessfully).

    wait a miute, i just thought. Maybe thats the point.

    oh well.

    no, actually,, i think there needs to be two levels of ‘attention’. Firstly a clocking in / out system for each piece,, and then a swiping to create added interaction between piece and user. The first level simnply registers attention. he second level engagement.

    Thats all for now

    Sam

  25. Andy Says:

    Hi,

    Love the idea of looking at what grabs peoples attention and then holds it. Did wonder if how you would be able to discern from your data what was holding people’s attention, be it the fact they were enjoying the images or the fact they are bored and would like to see the screen doing something different. You may have already thought of this and have some way of telling. My suggestion would have been to clock in with your attention and then clock out to say you’ve finished. But anyway, it was good stuff, interesting and I did surprisingly find some of the repetitive images held my attention for a good while!

    Ta

    Andy

  26. evanston northwestern healthcare Says:

    I love this site, so thank you

  27. healthcare 36 Says:

    Nice site, I have bookmarked your site yet and I will come back again ! You have a gratest site!

  28. adknowledge health insurance Says:

    Cocktails

Leave a Reply

